Artist Consultations

Private Consultations for Emerging and Established Artists

Private Consultations for Emerging and Established ArtistsNavigating the Art Industry: Professional Practices for Emerging ArtistsFounded in 2009, Phantoms in the Front Yard (PITFY) is a Vancouver-based figurative artist collective focused on elevating the human figure’s role as muse in the Canadian contemporary art scene.
§

Phantoms in the Front Yard

Founded in 2009, Phantoms in the Front Yard (PITFY) is a Vancouver-based figurative artist collective focused on elevating the human figure’s role as muse in the Canadian contemporary art scene.

The name captures the essence of the group’s purpose: to address the fact that Modernist and Postmodern schools of thought virtually ignore the importance of figurative work, effectively banishing it to the “back yard”. With each exhibition, the Phantoms hope to bring figurative work back to the front yard of contemporary art.

With a goal of creating art for all, not just academics and industry veterans, the PITFY collective opens its doors to members from a broad range of career stages. This diversity provides a variety of perspectives and an exciting opportunity for each member. Emerging artists gain insight from experience, and established ones are invigorated with new ideas. Every PITFY exhibition features work by collective members and one invited guest who has the potential to join the collective full-time. This model adds a truly dynamic element to group relations, with every participant assigned specific duties to help make the show a success. PITFY exhibition structure enhances this exciting mix even further, with biannual shows in alternative venues independent of any gallery or institutional setting. This format allows complete freedom to determine which work will be shown and how – a truly unique feature of the PITFY collective.

Contrary to group shows curated to reflect a unifying theme, PITFY exhibitions are unified in the artistic process itself. Group members take turns choosing each show’s theme, which other members are free to interpret in their own manner. Subject matter is developed collaboratively in group meetings, resulting in work that is often outside of, and sometimes even contrary to, each member’s normal subject matter and process. This inspires experimentation and new possibilities, often resulting in work that is very diverse in nature, yet unified on a common theme.

Current collective members:

Pennylane Shen (curator and director) – www.dazedandconfucius.com
Jay Senetchko – www.senetchko.ca
Michael Abraham – www.michaelabraham.com
Paul Morstad – www.paulmorstad.com
Bruce Pashak – www.brucepashak.com
Jonathan Sutton – www.jonathansutton.net
Jeremiah Birnbaum – www.birnbaumjeremiah.ca
Caroline Weaver – www.caroline-weaver.ca

Past Guest Phantoms include: 
Christian Nicolay – www.christiannicolay.com
Justin Oglivie – www.justinogilvie.com
Mandy Boursicot – www.mandyboursicot.com